My 95 Favorite Foods

IMG_20120824_131948I know I have 100, but still thinking through the last five. Look up recipes and restaurants and enjoy!
P.S…I have also started a recipe blog called Pescetarian Cookbook. Some of these recipes are there (click on links) and more will be added.

1. Sopes (Mexico) I first encountered them on a trip in Culiacan, Sinaloa and had to learn to make it myself. There are many varieties, but all very satisfying. I eat them with black beans.
2. Sushi Rolls (Japan) I haven’t met a roll I didn’t like, with the exception of the SPAM rolls, but my favorite involved barbecue eel.
3. Mexican Hot Chocolate. AMAZING. Sometimes called “Cocoa Azteca.” On the same vein, Mexican Chocolate Mochas are also the best version of this coffee drink I’ve encountered.
4. Posho (Uganda) People say it’s tastless and just a filler food. Maybe I like it because it’s lighter than other Ugandan fare, so it compliments it, but it’s like mashed potatoes for me- East African comfort food.
5. Eggplant Parmesan  (Italy) Surprisingly, I first ate this at the Biola cafeteria and that’s when I fell in love with eggplant. I like it with fried or baked breaded eggplant.
6. Moroccan Vegetable Stew. It’s just satisfying. Of course, with eggplant, chickpeas, and lots of spice.
7. Thai Curry, especially green. I have enjoyed every Thai curry I’ve tasted, so it’s hard to choose just one.
8. Baba Ghanouj (Middle East) It’s like hummus, but with roasted eggplant-earthy and flavorful. I thanks a little shop with instant Baba Ganouj for roping me in.
9. Baingan Bharta (India) Again, a roasted eggplant, vegetarian dish. Delicious with naan.
10. Peanut Butter or Mint and Chip Ice Cream. It’s a toss up which is better.
11. Hummus (Mediterrean/Middle East) This can and has been eaten in so many ways- one of my favorites is as a spread on sandwiches, instead of mayo.
12. Paneer Tikka (India) Just discovered this.
13. Spring Rolls with Peanut Sauce (Viet Nam) Light, but satisfying. It’s the only I like to order at the local vietnamese restaurants.
14. Phad Thai (Thailand) I first tried this in the form of an instant lunch pack., then had to make it myself when my friend went to Thailand. Prepared right, it is so satisfying with all the different textures and flavors.
15. Sweet Potato Fries. One day I made them, and realized they are so tasty and better than regular thick cut fries.
16. Chai (India) I can’t believe that what got me hooked was the powdered stuff at Common Grounds… eventually I learned to make it myself.
17. Good Horchata (Mexico) Who knew rice could make a great drink?
18. Goldline peaches (Dinub, CA =) ) Naylor’s Organics. They know how to cultivate stone fruit. It really is an experience and I love the streak of gold flesh in this mostly white peach.
19. Lumpias (Philippines) This was first introduced to me by my mother, who is not filipino,  and one of my childhood favorites.
20. Cold Sesame Noodles (Japan) The spicier, the better.
21. Thai Iced Tea (Thailand) Still getting use to the boba.
22. Homemade Chocolate Chip Cookies. Chewy, not crisp. I will keep eating them until I am sick.
23. Vegan Chocolate Banana “Ice Cream.” Made mostly with frozen bananas, tt tastes even more refreshing than dairy, and it’s energizing.
24. Vegan Chocolate Pudding. I was skeptical about tofu pudding until I made it out of curiosity. It is so rich and no one could tell it wasn’t pudding, except, it tastes more refreshing.
25. Vegetable Chili. I developed my own and it is my favorite chili beans now. The veggies give it a bright taste and the three beans and tomato paste give it a richness that I could eat all the time.
26. Mole (Mexico) A sauce with peanut butter, chocolate, and chili? This is great!
27. Blended Fresh Watermelon Juice (enjoyed in Guatemala) Everyone HAS to try this.
28. Black Bean Burritos (Guatemala) I didn’t really eat black beans until Guatemala, where that’s the only bean available, but it has a richer flavor than pinto beans that I’m hookedon.
29. Fish Tacos (Mexico) The best I’ve ever had was made by the wife of a pastor my church was working with in Ensenada.
30. Spaghetti with Vegetable Marinara (Italy) I use nice, fat pieces of mushrooms and zucchini with wine in the sauce.
31. Mushroom Ravoli (Italy) Second runner up in the ravioli department is butternut squash. Yum!
32. Sticky Rice (Asia) I will never get sick of it.
33. Egg Rolls (China) Really quality rolls are SO GOOD
34. Chocolate Ganoush Cake (France?) This nearly flourless cake is dense with chocolate. Which is incredible. It’s the best using good quality fair trade cocoa and chocolate.
35. Chapati (India/ Uganda) This is a staple breakfast item in Gulu. I actually favor the original IndiaIn recipe, which uses whole wheat and less oil and salt than in Uganda.
36. Nutella [On waffles, pancakes, etc) (Australia) Whoever came up with this is a genius.
37. Desert Tacos. I love the cuisine Mexican chefs are cultivating and one is chocolate filling (like nutella) in a fried corn tortilla with powdered sugar.
38. Enchiladas (Mexico) There are so many ways to make an amazing enchilada. I prefer red suace and corn tortilla. I’ve even tried one using sopes.
39. Multi-grain and nut pancakes. I like pancakes, bur these have even more flavor that the originals.
40. Peanut Butter cookies Omigoodness. I always loved peanut butter. And this is such as comforting cookie. I add chocolate chips… becuase I like chocolate. A lot.
41. Mint and Chocolate candy Pretty much any mint version of choclate candies makes me blissfully content…unless the choclate is gone.
42. Mexican salsa (Mexico) One of the great blessings of living in California is the salsas. There is such a variety and it is delicious. My favorites are a little chunky and very hot.
43. Guacamole (Mexico) Even better with a little salsa mixed in.
44. Falafel in Pita Bread (Middle East/ Mediterrean) I have never been so excited about a drive in diner than when I found a falafel joint in San Jose. seriously satifying stuff…I love it with cucumbers, tahini, and tomatoes.
45. Good Split Pea Soup Quite possibly my favorite soup. It is filling and full of flavor.
46. Pudding and Fruit Trifle I think I was given a trifle for the last few birthdays. It’s light with tasty layers of cake soaked with pudding and fruit and whipped cream.
47. Butternut Squash Soup Nevermind. This is my favorite soup.
48. Baked Butternut Squash cubes 
49. Vegetarian Lasagna
50. Peanut Butter Moo’d Smoothies
51. Soy Chorizo with Fried Tortilla Strips [and Scrambled Tofu or Egg] (Mexico, Kinda)
52. Fudgesicles
53. Grilled Zucchini and Parmesan Quesadillas
54. Peanut Butter and Chocolate Gelato (Italy)
55. Homemade Macaroni and Cheese
56. Grilled Salmon
57. Ricotta Stuffed Fried Squash Blossoms
58. Chocolate Caramel Malt
59. Fresh Homemade Tortillas (Latin America)
60. Watermelon and Feta Cheese Salad
61. Mixed Green Salads with Dried Fruit, Cheese, and Nuts
62. In ‘N Out Grilled Cheese Sandwich
63. Watson’s Eggplant Burger
64. Veggie Sandwich with Cucumbers, Tomato, Red Bell Peppers, Sprouts, and Hummus on Multi-Grain Bread
65. Churros (Mexico)
66. Vegetable Samosas (India)
67. Vegetable Pie
68. San Francisco Clam Chowder in a Sourdough Bowl
69. Trader Joe’s Veggie Chips
70. Homemade Grilled Cheese with Tomato Soup
71. French Fries and Milk Shake
72. Bananas Foster and Ice Cream
73. Fresh Local Pineapple (Guatemala, Uganda)
74. Quiche Lorraine (France?)
75. Fresh Passion Fruit Juice (Uganda)
76. Chili Relleno With Red Sauce
77. Crepes. Especially with Nutella.
78. Aloo Baingan
79. Grilled veggie alfredo sauce. My friend Steph grilled the balsamic vinigarette marinated veggies in a George Foreman grill…so it’s all indoors and so rich!
80. Chocolate pumpkin cake.
81. Really good fluffy mashed potatoes
83. Inarizushi (Japan)
84. Me ‘n Ed’s Valley Veggie Pizza

Pre-Vegetarian Carnivorous Favorites
85. Corned Beef Hash
86. Mongolian Barbecue
87. Jap Chae (Korea)
88. My grandma’s chicken and dumplings
89. Shepherd’s Pie
90. Really spicy hot links
91. My Mom’s Liver and Onions recipe
92. Chicken Cacciatore
93. Chicken and Mole
94. BLT
95. Carne Asada Tacos

5 responses to “My 95 Favorite Foods

  1. Why about Mochi?? I know you loved it so much! (raising sarcastic hand).
    Any dishes your friends/family makes that you enjoy? (not a plug for myself there). 🙂
    Thanks for sharing! Made my mouth water thinking of the watermelon and pineapple in Guatemala. Mmmmmm. Indian food. Mm
    Mmmmmm. Thai food. Mmmmmmmmmmm. Going to go make lunch now!

    • Oh, Mochi…who knows, it might become a favorite one of these days! Thank for the suggestions of dishes by friends. I LOVE your grilled vegetable alfredo sauce and pumpkin chocolate cupcakes. Anything else you’ve made that I might have forgotten?

Leave a Reply

