Theirs Is The Kingdom Of God

One of the most life giving moments (and there were many) of the past week was sitting in a small group, listening to Rolland Baker share his heart and testimony, which included that of his wife Heidi’s and his grandparents.
In starting their life together, Rolland said that they recognized, “If we don’t believe the Sermon on the Mount, completely, what is the point of what we are doing?’
And from there, they went off to live a life of faith, in the Father’s love.
I decided that I needed to go back to the Sermon on the Mount, slowly take it in and understand it, discover where I have not totally accepted Jesus’ truths, and let His truth transform my mind, my heart, and how I live out my life. I hope to live fully by His words.
So I’m going statement by statement and meditating with the Father, seeking friends, and otherwise exploring each truth, considering the ramifications of each truth, and reflecting on what transformation in my thinking and living gets to occur, by His grace =)
I welcome other’s thoughts.

29 April 2010: Reflection on Matthew 5:3 (part 1)
Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of God.

My friend, and a spiritual father, Ted explained “poor in spirit” as the recognition of our need for God, our poverty without Him.
I have heard that the beatitudes describe the salvation process and growth in the Lord. This is the first step, according to this thought, that one recognizes their need for them.
The promise that comes with it is so mind-blowingly powerful that I don’t know how we can read the whole beatitudes casually and not be stopped by this truth: ours is the kingdom of Heaven!
Hello!
The significance of this passage to me is that, as one who has been redeemed, I carry in my new life the awareness of my abject poverty without Him. But my reality right now and forevermore is that the kingdom of heaven is mine. With that, the King is mine.
I no longer live in poverty. I lack in nothing.
Other passages that come to mind: Ephesians 1:3, “Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ who has blessed us with EVERY spiritual blessing in the heavenly realms.” (emphasis mine)
And we have been seated with Christ in the heavenly places!, Eph. 2:6
“He has equipped us with everything pertaining to life and godliness.” 2 Peter 1:3
For those who had been saved, and have become heirs of the kingdom with Christ, we longer experience spiritual poverty.
We no longer have relational poverty, for the Father, Son, and the Holy Spirit are ours, for all eternity. This was the riches that the Trinity enjoyed eternally before He created anything out of Himself. Ha! And if it’s good enough for Trinity, it’s more than good enough for us =)
Within it, we enjoy the riches of His grace (Eph. 1:7, 2:7… just read all of Ephesians) His power (Eph 1:19), joy (Psalm 16), rest (Hebrews 3)…
We have the fruit of the Spirit, which I’ve finally realized is not something we work towards to produce ourselves. It’s the Spirit’s fruit in our lives. If we have been adopted, we have the Spirit (Eph. 1:13)
And as He has delighted to bring us, as adopted children, into His holy, pleasure-filled, mind-blowing Divine relationship, He designed for His children to enjoy  His love in relationship with one another. If we don’t experience this kind of spiritual family, it’s not because it is not ours to have, it is still our birthright and His plan.
We have been adopted (Eph. 1:3-6). We have a family, a household, a Father, brothers and sisters.
As the Father in the prodigal son story told the second brother, “Son, you are always with me, and all that is mine is yours.” (Sounds like Jesus’ acknowledgement with His Father in John 17:10)
There is no need, or room, for an orphan, poverty mindset of any kind. An orphan spirit, as I have heard, fears abandonment and rejection, fears that they may nothing in the future, as it is uncertain, has little security.
We have the security as adopted children by a faithful and all-loving Father and betrothed by Christ, who may discipline us, but will never reject, emotionally, physically, or spiritually abandon us (Romans 8:38-39)
The greatest asset of the Kingdom of heaven is love, which drives out all fear (1 John 4:18, read all around it. Read the whole book)

Leave a Reply

